Allowing students to exit early from an exam.
Posted by Respondus Support

Instructors have the option of locking students into an exam until they have submitted it for grading, or allowing them to exit early.

This optional exam setting for LockDown Browser has a default setting of "off". When set to off, students who leave an exam before submitting it will have to provide a reason for exiting the exam early. This reason can then be viewed by the instructor.

Details on how it works can be found in the attached article. We recommend letting the setting default to OFF, as there are often legitimate reasons why a student might need to leave an exam early.

For those using an iPad to take an exam

The "Lock Students into the browser until exam is completed" also applies to the LockDown Browser iPad app, but you must have version 5.0 or newer of the app installed.



Attachments 
 
 how students are locked into an exam.pdf (1.14 MB)